Our Curriculum

Madrasah al-Muhajirin is a weekend school, with students from many walks of life, with diverse family and educational backgrounds. We work closely with parents to deliver a curriculum that helps students build a strong foundation if Islamic knowledge and reading the Qur’an.

Islamic Studies

We use the Islamic Studies books from Weekend Learning Publishers which contains a broad aspect of Islam based on the Qur’an and authentic Hadith. The topics are laid out in a systematic manner to suit the teaching needs in a weekend Islamic school. These topics are selected based on age, grade and learning levels of each grade. Some topics are covered in multiple grades to add different perspectives, details and additional emphasis.

Iqraa Programme

Our Iqraa lessons aim to teach our students learn how to read the Qur’an correctly with proper tajweed. As a start, we use the Iqra’ – The Quick Method of Learning to Read the Al-Quran by Ustaz Haji As’Ad Humam. This set of 6 books is designed to teach students how to read Al-Qur’an through an easy step by step method emphasising on phonics. It is excellent for beginners or those who wish to improve their tajweed.

Prep - Level 2
Islamic Studies

Level 1 introduces students to the fundamentals of Islam. The lessons in this book attempt to walk students through the basics of Islam in a simple and enjoyable, yet informative manner. The concepts learned in this book will be covered in greater detail in future grade levels.

Level 2 builds on the knowledge base of the Level 1, with an additional emphasis while introducing the basics of Islam.

Iqraa Programme

Students start with Iqra’ Book 1 to familiarise themselves with the Arabic letters and tajweed.

Level 3 - Level 4
Islamic Studies

Level 3 further develops the basic concepts learned previously. Students will learn why we worship and the reasons for worshipping in prescribed formats. They will also learn the qualities of our Iman and some of the duties Allah wants us to perform in addition to our ritual duties. The life of Nabi Muhammad (S) is divided into Makkah and Madinah periods to provide additional details. A brief history of some of the messengers of Allah is also included. Topics on Islamic adab and akhlaq continue to be covered in this grade.

Topics in Level 4 are diverse and are presented with greater detail. Learning about Allah remains an important focus of the entire series, as well as the life of Nabi Muhammad (saw). The unit on how Islam changed Arabia takes a closer look at the life of Nabi Muhammad before and after receiving divine revelations. With the ritual duties becoming obligatory to students in this age group, several topics on the Fiqh of sal?t are introduced. The lives of the four Khalifas are covered in greater detail in order to explain their contributions to Islam. Several moral-building lessons are also included.

Iqraa Programme

Students learn to read the Quran with proper tajweed and understand the meaning.

Level 5 - Youth
Islamic Studies

The first few chapters in the Level 5 book focus on the Creator and His message. Chapter 2 explains why we should worship Allāh. Chapter 4 discusses uniform activities of the messengers, and dispels many of the misconceptions about them. Unit 2 provides details about the important battles and their impact on the history of early Islam. Unit 3 offers history of some of the messengers, particularly focusing on the morals to be learned from the messengers’ lives. Some age-appropriate ethical issues are also discussed. Unit 4 covers Islam in the World while Unit 5 teaches students to take a close look at some Islamic values and teachings, and encourages them to adopt these values.

Level 6 covers a vast range of topics. Unit 1 begins with several lessons on the Creator, His promise, His books and His Teachings. Unit 2 covers some topics on the Qur’an and Hadith while Unit 3 looks into the Fundamentals of Deen. Unit 4 covers the lives and mission of several Messengers of Allah with a focus towards understanding the legacy of their faith and character. Unit 5 introduces topics related to three illustrious women of Islam. Unit 6 covers topics on the invisible to provide an understanding of ruh, nags, angels, jinn and shaitan. Unit 7 includes practical information about our current society while Unit 8 looks into developing Islamic values.

Iqraa Programme

Students continue to learn to read the Quran with proper tajweed and understand the meaning.

Thank you for your support.

You can donate to Madrasah Al-Muhajirin via Bank Transfer.

Your contributions will be used to improve the Madrasah.

Jazakallah Khair